Outta Sight

Until recently, I felt that my vision would remain ever reliable. I knew about presbyopia intellectually, but it didn’t feel like it could happen to me. For decades I inwardly laughed at people who complained about my small handwriting and screen fonts.

But one day I realized that I could no longer easily read the dates on pennies. A year or two later, I can barely read a paperback on my lap. Forget about small print on paperwork, like the ingredient lists on food packages. Sure, I easily passed my drivers license eye exam last month. But I can no longer see what’s right in front of my face.

Reading Glasses

So I’ve been collecting dollar store reading glasses. I have them in just about every room in the house. But these are a nuisance to carry out in the world. They are big and easily scratched. Even the “compact” kind are awkward. Either their carry containers are bulky, or their extra hinges prone to tangling.

Panini GlassesThen I found the Panini brand compact folding reading glasses. Self protecting and the size of a pen. Naturally, this convenient inventions cost eighteen times as much as any other pair I owned. But these I easily slip into a pocket and go.

So what happens to any product that I genuinely like? The same thing that happened to many companies whose stock I bought. A year later, they no longer exist! I tried finding a link to share with youse via Google, but every link was a dead end. No matching images, nor stores carry these marvels any more.

This object is now completely out of sight. Unavailable. Can’t lay my hands on another pair when my eyes get worse.

2 Responses to “Outta Sight”


  1. 1 Eric Williams December 24, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    I too searched in vain for more Panini brand glasses. Broke the frame on one pair and the other sits waiting for the day that I need +2 glasses. They were wonderful while they lasted.

  2. 2 Dan Klarmann September 12, 2011 at 10:28 am

    They are back! And there are now two Panini designs available (September 2011)
    Visit ReadingGlasses.com


Leave a Reply

