Shear Shadows

It is quite a warm summer. With all these triple digit days, it only makes sense to do yard work early in the morning, while the temperature is still down in the 80’s. One of those mornings I was setting up to trim the hedges, when I noticed this shadow.


I have always enjoyed images, objects, and illusions. Long shadows never cease to amuse me. There are three times of day to reliably find them: When the sun is low at dawn and dusk, casting horizontal shadows on the ground; and when the sun is high, casting long shadows on walls. Note how the ½” wire has a two inch shadow. It had been a little wider when I first saw it, but it took a while to find my camera.
Anyway, the object at hand this morning is the image of the shadow of the hedge trimmer, evoking to me the front end of a saw fish.

0 Responses to “Shear Shadows”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

